The E&P editors and staff proudly presented the winners of the 2017 Special Meritorious Awards for Engineering Innovation at the Offshore Technology Conference in May. The awards recognize service and operating companies for excellence and achievement in every segment of the upstream petroleum industry. The following pages spotlight the 22 winners the independent team of judges picked that represent a broad range of disciplines and address a number of problems that pose roadblocks to efficient operations.

Schlumberger took honors in the artificial lift category for its ZEiTECS Shuttle rigless ESP replacement system. Shown from the left are Farid Hamida, Khaled Elsheikh, E&P’s Rhonda Duey and David Paterson.

Schlumberger won in the drillbits category for its AxeBlade Ridged Diamond Element Bit technology. Shown from left to right in the back row are Gerard Johnson, Shaw Gan, Allen White, Davy McCullough and Jan Morley. From left to right in the front row are Scott Horman, Pui Amponpun, E&P’s Rhonda Duey, Murat Aksoy, Uyen Canfield and Ryan Mushinski.

One of the drillbits winners was Baker Hughes’ KymeraXT. Shown from left to right are E&P publisher Russ Laas, Lyle Dolezal, Bibek Ghimire, Scott Schmidt, Shelly Cory, William Schoen, Mark Freeman, Franklin Valbuena and Robert Bradshaw.

E&P’s Jennifer Presley (middle) presented Baker Hughes an award for the drilling fluids/stimulation category for its CND500 multifunctional microemulstion treatment. Pictured from left to right, Ramakrishna Ponnapati, Mary Jane Felipe, Lynn Frostman and Lirio Quintero accepted the award.

Schlumberger’s OpenPath Sequence diversion stimulation service won the award for the drilling fluids/stimulation category. From left to right are Farid Hamida, Teoman Altinkopru, E&P’s Rhonda Duey and Jesse Lee.

Churchill Drilling Tools won in the drilling systems category for the HyPR HoleSaver. E&P’s Russ Laas (far left) presented the award to (from second left to right) Mike Churchill, Jorge Xacur and Casey Edmiaston.

From left to right, Graham Riley, Justus Kay, Juan Restrepo and Marion Nejad accepted an award from E&P’s Rhonda Duey (middle) for Schlumberger’s PowerDrive Orbit rotary steerable system, winner of the drilling systems category.

From left to right, E&P publisher Russ Laas presented Andrew Duncan, Terry Quinn, Doug Patterson, Gennady Koscheev and Howard Glassman an award for the exploration category for Baker Hughes’ Deep Shear wave imaging technology.

Ikon Science took honors in the exploration category for its RokDoc Ji-Fi platform. From left to right are Matt Bell, E&P’s Rhonda Duey and Simon Payne.

Saudi Aramco garnered three awards: its seismic and EM joint inversion technology in the exploration category; 3-D mapping of reservoir saturation from crosswell EM in horizontal wells in the formation evaluation category; and multifunctional nano-tracers with in situ detection, also in the formation evaluation category. Mohammed H. Khaldi (right) received the awards from E&P’s Russ Laas.

Intecsea, Worley Parsons Group, took honors for its low-motion FPSO technology, “LM-FPSO,” in the floating systems category. From left to right are Chunfa Wu, Geeta Thakorlal, Alaa Mansour and E&P’s Russ Laas.

Jason McIntyre (far left), Bill Kendrick (second from the right) and Renee LeBas (far right) received an award from E&P executive editor Rhonda Duey (second from the left) for Halliburton’s ExpressKinect, which won the HSE category.

Schlumberger’s AvantGuard Advanced Flowback Services technology won honors for hydraulic fracturing/pressure pumping. On hand to receive the award from E&P’s Rhonda Duey were (from left to right) Bengt Arne Nilssen, Philippe Deslandes, Wallace Pescarini, Dmitriy Potapenko and Philippe Enkababian.

Evolution Well Services’ NextGen 100% electric fracturing services won an award for the hydraulic fracturing/pressure pumping category. From the left are Brett Vann, Mike Bateman, Matthew Vahsholtz, Chris Combs, Ben Bodishbaugh, Steven Anderson, Jeffrey Morris and E&P publisher Russ Laas.

The intelligent systems and components award went to (from left to right) Bengt Arne Nilssen, Afzal Memon, Wallace Pescarini and Artur Stankiewicz for Schlumberger’s Maze Microfluidic SARA Analysis technology. E&P’s Rhonda Duey (second from the right) presented the award.

Halliburton’s EquiSeal Conformance System took honors for the IOR/EOR/remediation category. Shown from left to right are Julio Vasquez, E&P’s Rhonda Duey, Larry Eoff and Renee LeBas.

Baker Hughes won an award for its GelBlock temporary annular isolation system technology in the IOR/EOR/remediation category. From left to right are Don Samples, Harold Hudson, Paul Carman, John Mayor, Richard Wheeler, E&P’s Jennifer Presley and Satya Gupta.

Halliburton’s Endurance Hydraulic Screen won the nonfracturing completions category. Pictured from left to right are Artie Burke, E&P’s Rhonda Duey and Keith Oddie.

Samoco Oil Tools took the honors in the subsea systems category. Pictured from left to right are Tony Lee, Miguel Ramirez, Mike Al Oudat, E&P’s Rhonda Duey, MJ Hellail and Andrea Balsamo.

Not pictured: Victaulic was the winner in the water management category for its Refuse-to-Fuse HDPE Joining System.

To enter your product or service for an 2018 Meritorious Engineering Award, go to

Deadline: Jan. 31, 2018