Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association (TIPRO) on March 30 named Jud Walker, currently president and CEO of EnerVest Ltd., as the next chairman to lead the association.

Jud Walker EnerVest headshot
Jud Walker

The appointment was announced in conjunction with TIPRO’s 76th Annual Convention held this week in Austin, Texas. Walker’s term as chairman of the TIPRO board of directors will begin on July 1, according to a release.

“In this time of transformation and evolution for the oil and gas industry, TIPRO is fortunate to welcome Jud Walker as a trusted leader of our association who holds valuable expertise and vision,” Brent Hopkins, the current chairman of TIPRO and president of Suemaur Exploration & Production LLC, commented in the release.

TIPRO is a trade association representing the interests of nearly 3,000 independent oil and natural gas producers and royalty owners throughout Texas. As one of the nation’s largest statewide associations representing both independent producers and royalty owners, members include small businesses, the largest, publicly-traded independent producers, and mineral owners, estates and trusts. 

“Under Jud’s guidance, we are prepared to tackle the largest priorities for independent producers and royalty owners in Texas,” Hopkins added.

Walker holds 20 years of experience working for the energy industry. He was named president and CEO of EnerVest Ltd. in December 2020 and previously led EnerVest Operating LLC. Based in Houston, EnerVest is an oil and natural gas company that holds operating assets in Texas and Virginia. 

“As the next chairman of the association, I’m committed to shining a bright light on the essential role that the Texas independent plays as it relates to quality of life, national security and overall prosperity,” Walker commented in the release. “I believe our industry must continue to spearhead education informing Texans on why domestic energy development is essential, and through TIPRO, I intend to prioritize this effort.”

Prior to his appointment, Walker served on the TIPRO board as an at-large representative of the association’s membership.

Following the 2022 TIPRO Convention, the association also announced the confirmation of other new and returning directors for the board's leadership, including:  

  • Immediate Past Chairman — Brent Hopkins, Suemaur Exploration & Production;
  • Region 5 Director — Marc Dingler, Diamondback Energy;
  • At-Large Director — Pam Roth, EOG Resources;
  • At-Large Director — Dennis Hendrix, Great Western Drilling Co.;
  • Treasurer — John Swords, Tracker Services; and
  • Secretary — Patricia Boswell McCall, Boswell Interests.

“As our industry continues to navigate against an unpredictable market and unstable regulatory environment, the broad range of experience and knowledge from TIPRO’s board will be crucial to guiding the work of our association and allowing TIPRO to keep serving its mission of advocating for independent producers and mineral owners at all levels of government,” said TIPRO President Ed Longanecker in the release.