The International Association of Drilling Contractors held its annual meeting at the Renaissance Eden Roc Resort in Miami this week.

The first day, Nov. 9, began with a keynote address by Stephen J. Bosworth, VP of worldwide drilling for Anadarko Petroleum Corp. (sponsored by GE Oil & Gas Drilling & Production). Subsequent speakers reviewed regional (US onshore, worldwide offshore) drilling activity, future fuels, well control, environmental policy, drillers outlooks (Rowan Cos., Keen Energy Services, Pride International), Maritime Labour Convention 2006, and US-based offshore driller investment trends.

Rig census The second day began with results of the newly named NOV Downhole Rig Census; previously known as the ReedHycalog rig census [E&P online exclusive article, 10 Nov 2009].

Full census details, including census data from 1980, can be found at the NOV website.

Oivind Reinertsen, president of Statoil ASA ("Hydro" became silent on 2 Nov 2009), delivered a presentation, followed by reviews of non-productive time (NPT), the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA), and market outlook prognostications from two analysts (Jeff Tillery at Tudor Pickering & Holt; Judson Baily at Jeffries & Co.).

Exemplary service

Over the course of two days, IADC recognized four men for “outstanding contributions to the drilling industry and to IADC. Recipients have, in the course of their career, repeatedly demonstrated their commitment to improving the drilling industry and advancing its safety, training, or technology.”

• Jim Nicklos, President, Nicklos Drilling Co.

• Bill Hedrick, Vice President Claims Management & Special Projects, Rowan Cos.

Warren Weaver, Manager, Regulatory Compliance, Transocean. Jim Gormanson, Director of Compliance, Noble Drilling Services Inc.

Congratulations to all.