Boosting its advocacy powers during these historic times, the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers has named Jason Modglin as its new president, the company said on June 2.

Modglin comes to the Alliance from the Texas Railroad Commission, where he served as director of public affairs for Commissioner Christi Craddick. Previously, he was chief of staff for House Energy Resources Chairman Drew Darby and a policy analyst for Texas Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples.

A native of Houston, Modglin holds a master of public affairs degree from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin and a bachelor of arts degree from Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas.

“Jason Modglin is an outstanding choice to lead the Alliance, and that’s why our board selected him unanimously as we strive to help our members through this difficult period and beyond,” Cye Wagner, chair of the Alliance board of directors, said. “His knowledge of legislative and regulatory policy will be invaluable as we continue to make Texas the greatest environment for oil and gas production in the world.”